“The Search for Everything: Wave One”

Connecticut-born John Mayer recently returned to the public eye after a four-year hiatus with the release of his latest EP, “The Search for Everything: Wave One.” Filled with infusions of his earlier album sounds, he’s taken a turn from his 2013 release “Paradise Valley” which has a slight country undertone. His four-song EP brings listeners back to his well-known jazz tones, to later be compiled into a full-length album titled “The Search for Everything.”

This release has also sparked a world tour to begin in May. Although not coming to Texas, Mayer will be traveling from Utah to Sweden and everywhere in between. The promo video Mayer released for the tour has promised listeners three sets at each show, consisting of “a full band, solo acoustic, and John Mayer trio” as well as his most popular songs mixed with ones from his new EP.

“Wave One” of “The Search for Everything” consists of the songs “Love on the Weekend,” “Changing,” “Moving On and Getting Over,” and “You’re Gonna Live Forever in Me.” These songs are emotionally charged with the feelings of letting go of a past relationship as Mayer engulfs the listeners with raw, hopeful words of encouragement. Some theories claim that this EP is based on a possible relationship Mayer had with singer Demi Lovato; however, this has not been confirmed by Mayer himself.

To decide for yourself, you can listen to his new EP on Spotify or Apple Music. For more music news you can follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat @suedebands.

You Might Also Like